Penn State Fayette students honored at 52nd annual Awards Banquet

Taylor White, Chad Long, Tanner Riley

From left to right: Taylor White (left) and Tanner Riley (right) receive the Dennis Hippo Memorial Award presented by Chad Long, Student Affairs manager (center).

Credit: Penn State

LEMONT FURNACE, Pa. — Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus held the 52nd annual Student Awards Banquet on April 27 at the Park Inn by Radisson in Uniontown for a crowd of over 200 campus community members, family and friends.

The banquet recognizes students who demonstrate academic persistence, leadership, service, athletic participation, campus involvement, or community engagement over the academic year. The following students received awards:

Campus Academic Awards

Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award: Kirstan Webb

Associates in Business Student of the Year Award: Jayme Frey

Bachelors of Science in Business Student of the Year Award: Olivia Crutchman, Danielle Sheraskey

Corporate Communications Student of the Year Award: Brianna Harr

David Hyatt Snyder Award in Business: Julia Gaggiani

Engineering Student of the Year Award: Luke Hess, Nathan Nedrow, Samantha Peebles

James E. Work Memorial Award in Agriculture: Rebecca Dill

Jerome Joseph Guzy Memorial Award: Kayla Barbabella (painting), Kendall Leake (drawing)

Math Student of the Year Award: Samantha Peebles, Anastazia Polakovsky

Physical Therapy Student of the Year Award: Tyler Ruda

Excellence in Life Sciences Student of the Year Award: Eric Lohr

Excellence in Physical Science Student of the Year Award: Janai Showman

University Awards

Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Austin Bixler

Established in 1971, the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award recognizes students from each of the Penn State undergraduate campuses whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership, and citizenship have positively influenced the campus and University community.

President’s Freshman Award: Matthew Baker, Jarod Beaumariage, Earl Christopher, Edmond DeCicco, Joseph DeCicco, Julia Gaggiani, Christy Gray, Grant Kisner, Katelyn Myers, Paige Sherbondy, Donna Show, Michelle Weaver

The President’s Freshman Award is presented annually to students who have earned a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 12 graded credits.

President Sparks Award: Morgan Dewitt, Samantha Long, Nathan Nedrow, Samantha Peebles, Anastazia Polakovsky, Taylor White

The President Sparks Award is presented annually to students who have earned a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 36 graded credits.

Evan Pugh Scholar Award: Lucas Tabacsko

The Evan Pugh Scholar Award is presented to juniors and seniors who are in the upper 0.5 percent of their respective classes and have completed at least 48 graded Penn State credits.

Campus Merit Awards

David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award: Eric Mcthane

The David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award honors outstanding leadership in an on-campus student organization by an undergraduate engineering student.

Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Tanner Riley, Taylor White

Established in 1970, the Dennis Hippo Memorial Award recognizes students who exemplify the attributes of Dennis Hippo in the areas of leadership, academic persistence, engagement, service, and altruism.

Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: Rachel Byers

The Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award recognizes outstanding achievement by undergraduate students who have given of themselves by performing community service and/or humanitarian assistance to their community, state, country, and/or other nations affected by catastrophic natural events.

Port Family Public Service Award: Joseph Onesi

The Port Family Public Service Award recognizes a student who has volunteered or assisted in public service programs within the campus or regional community.

Student Excellence Award: Joseph Yourchik (winner), Janai Showman (finalist), Brittanie Watson (finalist)

The Student Excellence Award recognizes students who compete in a rigorous written and oral academic research presentation.

Club of the Year Award: Christian Club

The Club of the Year Award recognizes a student-run organization that has contributing outstanding service to the campus, regional, and/or global community.